2024 New York Marathon (Read 131 times)

Running Problem

Problem Child

Anyone applying? Anyone running? Anyone with input and advice for an aspiring marathoner regarding where to stay, how to get there, places to avoid, or anything helpful?

Many of us aren't sure what the hell point you are trying to make and no matter how we guess, it always seems to be something else. Which usually means a person is doing it on purpose.

VDOT 53.37 

5k18:xx | Marathon 2:55:22

darkwave

Mother of Cats

I'm planning on entering.   No tips as I've never done it before.

Everyone's gotta running blog; I'm the only one with a POOL-RUNNING blog.

And...if you want a running Instagram where all the pictures are of cats, I've got you covered.

DavePNW

I'm planning on entering.   No tips as I've never done it before.

+1

Dave

kcam

No tips from me as I've never run NYC but I just paged through this photo collection and, wow, it really makes me want to train up to run one more marathon and make it NYC.  Tough to get in, though.  Enjoy that run!

Click "online exhibition":

https://raceday.nyc/en/

JMac11

RIP Milkman

I may sign up for it, but more just to lock in my eligibility for 2025 than anything (by deferring). Complete waste of money but I'm really hoping it gets there in 2025!

5K: 16:37 (11/20)  |  10K: 34:49 (10/19)  |  HM: 1:14:57 (5/22)  |  FM: 2:36:31 (12/19) 

Running Problem

Problem Child

Jmac *fangirl gif* Can you defer the race? If you don't enter any advice on where to stay would be awesome. I was thinking of staying closer to the start, then riding whatever I can find back home after the race. I expect you to be out there VERY noticeable (bright colors dressed to run would be excellent).

KCAM I'm pretty sure the only reason I'm entering/applying is because it was so hard to get in and I have a time qualifier. Since all those photos are 2019 I'm expecting it to be nothing similar.

darkwave wow. I'm actually surprised you'd never run it.