Long Run Nick: A Gift to Newbies--and even veteran runners. (Read 2781 times)

Is speed relative to the individual person? How would you define slowing down? For example, my best 10K pace is 8:30 mm. What would be slow for me on daily runs?
    "If I control myself, I control my destiny."
    Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

Is speed relative to the individual person? How would you define slowing down? For example, my best 10K pace is 8:30 mm. What would be slow for me on daily runs?
      I think it should be more effort based. Speed is a correlate to effort. The pace is individualized. The traditional answer is that low effort running means you should be able to sing a song without straining while you are running. Some use heart rate to help guide them.

Hawt and sexy

Nick, i heart you.

I'm touching your pants.

AmoresPerros

Options,Account, Forums

I'm a noob, b/c I just started running this year. I dunno if I'm a 6 minute miler -- I can do one mile faster than 6, but I haven't broken 18:30 on 5K yet. I cannot possibly read most of runningahead -- even this thread is pages and pages. I'm not a reader with a running problem, I can't read a zillion pages. Or a zillion groups. But I was exceedingly entertained by this thread -- I thought Trent and whoever else were very quickwitted in their responses. I mean, I liked the opening post, and I liked the responses even more. Run like your hair is one fire -- I mean, in certain circumstances, that could be not just entertaining, but life-saving advice. I laughed out loud one of the posts, like this: > > As I said, there are lots of boobs. Boatloads of them, really. > That is why I run fast. I'm chasing 'em. Also, McMillan has too fast paces for me too, at last in my mind. If I round a road test mile I did this autumn up to 5:35 for uncertainty, McMillan gives me easy runs at 7:42 to 8:12. Ha. Not what I call easy. I did 20K this weekend at 8:20 working down to 8:00, because I was running with someone who runs faster than