My first red bar EVER (Read 900 times)

obiebyke

I did it! Yesterday was my first race EVER. I live in Oakland, CA. There's a great race almost every fourth Sunday, put on by a local running club. It goes around Lake Merritt--1 loop is 5K, and you can run 1, 2, or 3 loops. I graduated from the C25K very very recently. Last week, I ran 5K twice, on the race course--the only times I had ever run that far in my life! Friday I just did 2.5, to make sure my legs would be rested. Of course, Saturday night, although I meant to go to bed nice and early, I had a bit of a snafu with my girlfriend. I not only ended up going to bed late, but I didn't sleep well because I was upset. Ain't that the best of timing? Sunday I got up at 7, hopped in the shower to warm up and wake up, and put on my running clothes. My dad is visiting, so he was up to see my exhausted nervousness, but I asked him not to actually come to the race. Parent history. You know how it goes. I drank a glass of water, ate a banana, made sure I had my Garmin, and headed out the door. I could see my breath, but it was obviously going to be a beautiful day. I ate half a Clif bar on the drive and pulled in early to the race site. Registration wouldn't start for another 10 minutes (I go places early when I'm nervous), so I sat in my car and listened to NPR for a while. Then I headed to where all the flags and card tables were and signed up. There were folks milling around, most people all smiles, and a few little kids. The sun was out over the lake right now, and it was warm enough to stick my car key in my shorts zipper pocket and dump my jacket in my trunk. I did some speedwalking--my usual warmup-- to the bathroom to pee, then people-watched. To my surprise, my nerves weren't bad at all! At about 8:30, there was a race for little kids--last place was a baby boy who couldn't have been even two years old. Adorable! Finally it was time to line up. No race chips--they had a camera thing at the start line. I lined up