Goal of sub 1:40 half. (Read 3802 times)

Great job CR.  So what's next?

I am back to the sub-20 5K grind.  It's been 2 years, several calf strains, and a torn meniscus. My best time on a certified course that was run properly was 20:40. I have been getting slower lately though. Guess I'm still learning how best to train.

This 1:40 Half goal has been a nice side project, but if there is a 1:30 Half Marathon thread, please don't tell me!

Oh, and I might try to do my first marathon next year in Oakland.

Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero

I'm up on Saturday and planning my week this week.

I was going to throw a little speed in Tuesday's workout, maybe 4 x 400 or 4 x 600 just to keep things moving.

Mon: 45 min

Tue: A few shorter intervals

Wed off

Thursday: 45 min

Friday: off

Your thoughts?

SMART Approach

I was going to throw a little speed in Tuesday's workout, maybe 4 x 400 or 4 x 600 just to keep things moving.

Wed off

Your thoughts?

Looks fine to me. Just keep Thursday easy. 4-6 X 200M intervals would be good enough. I certainly would not do more than 4 X 400. Do first 200 or 400 at goal race pace and then faster thereafter. You will do great. Good luck.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training

Safe Muscle Activation Recovery Technique

www.smartapproachtraining.com

mikeymike

Does anyone else feel that CodeRunner's and Dakota RR's avatars are similar enough that one of them should be forced to change it.  Who had the black visor and red shirt picture first?  Or maybe they can play rock, paper, scissors for it.

Runners run

Prince of Fatness

Damn, you're right.

Not at it at all. 

Wed off

Your thoughts?

Good luck. I will follow you on Sunday. Looks like temps in the 50s with possible rain for me.

I don't really have a schedule but after 12 miles the last 2 days I am taking today off then probably something like the following:

Wednesday: 6 or 7 miles