Goal of sub 1:40 half. (Read 3802 times)

hairshirt knitter

Ah well, please can I join in with a sub 1:40 goal? It may be unrealistic, but this is my first year back after a 7 year break before which I ran 1:28 PR. I have a goal HM race in Autumn and am just building mileage and running a few races for fun and as a regular 'tempo'  builder.

I agree that the key is a regular long run up to 16 miles (for me), and a regular tempo run, but the tempo run is the one that I've never mastered...

I was aiming to get my mileage into 20-30mpw then maybe a 4-week cycle of 10-12-14-16 mile long runs, with overall miles dropping every 4th week for recovery

For pacing are you all using a gps? Or measured route with mile markers, or heart rate, or perceived effort?

I'm not sure about overall weekly mileage though, if you can run the long one and the tempo one, what are the other runs doing other than making you tired?

Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero

Ah well, please can I join in with a sub 1:40 goal? It may be unrealistic, but this is my first year back after a 7 year break before which I ran 1:28 PR. I have a goal HM race in Autumn and am just building mileage and running a few races for fun and as a regular 'tempo'  builder.

I agree that the key is a regular long run up to 16 miles (for me), and a regular tempo run, but the tempo run is the one that I've never mastered...

I was aiming to get my mileage into 20-30mpw then maybe a 4-week cycle of 10-12-14-16 mile long runs, with overall miles dropping every 4th week for recovery

For pacing are you all using a gps? Or measured route with mile markers, or heart rate, or perceived effort?

I'm not sure about overall weekly mileage though, if you can run the long one and the tempo one, what are the other runs doing other than making you tired?