Ultra Runners

April 2023 Ultra Training Thread (Read 21 times)

Pain is my friend

Amazing job beryl. That’s a great finish time. I may have past you in the night at an aid station and not know it. My buddy finished in 29:25. That course is deceptively harder than it looks. Sand, slick rock and all the turns are crazy. I don’t get turned around running. But on that course I and lost at night. Feels like you’re going in circles.

ATY 24   141.445 2019 1st

Bear 100 22:08 2021 

Jackpot 100 Feb 14:59 - 5th

Pulse endurance 48 hr 175.3 miles

Bonnevile Backyard ultra 

Ute 100 Aug

24 hour loop race?

dktrotter

Dorothea

Hello! Checking in again in the midst of a busy end-of-semester (I am an instructor for college writing, so I switched marathon and ultra running with grading for a while-2 more weeks!). I won't be doing any ultra training for a while, but do want to kind of stay in touch. 

I saw that article about Joasia Zakrzewski and was disappointed in her… but probably not as much as she is in herself. I get thinking that she needed to drop out and then deciding against it, but then she should have gone back to the point where she got in the car and continued from there. I feel like this kind of thing is pretty rare though? More rare than marathon cheating? I noticed during my own run that there are so many ways to cut the race short… but because it becomes about finishing the distance and the course, one is usually less inclined to cheat. But maybe it's different if you're competitive. 

On the bright side, I saw this brilliant article about Camille Herron. https://news.ultrasignup.com/the-possibilities-are-endless/?fbclid=IwAR1nOX2keuuHjFdOL1xslpVvkby8EHnoPdnDxSDD1i5j-LiDaN5koop5Ok8